What dental plan allowed amount means
An allowed amount is the fee basis a dental plan uses to calculate benefits for a service under specified network or plan rules.
Why the term matters
How it changes the treatment conversation
A plan percentage may apply to the allowed amount instead of the provider's full fee.
Ask this
A question that makes the term useful
“What allowed amount was used and can the provider bill above it?”
Full explanation
In depth
The allowed amount is the figure the plan uses as the basis for its calculation, not what the dentist charged, and not what the plan pays. Every other number on an explanation of benefits derives from it: the deductible comes off it, the coinsurance percentage applies to what remains, and the annual maximum caps the result. Its practical importance depends almost entirely on network status. With an in-network dentist, the allowed amount is a contracted fee and the practice has agreed not to bill you above it. Anything charged above it is written off. With an out-of-network dentist, no such agreement exists, the plan's allowance may be set by a schedule you cannot see. The gap between the fee and the allowance is yours. A pretreatment estimate submitted with the proposed codes typically returns the plan's allowance alongside its expected payment, which converts the largest unknown in the calculation into a written figure before anything is committed.
Also called: allowable charge, maximum allowable charge, contracted fee, negotiated rate, plan allowance, UCR.
The order of operations
How the allowance drives every other figure
- The plan establishes an allowed amount for the procedure code submitted
- Any unmet deductible is subtracted from that allowed amount
- The coinsurance percentage for that category applies to what remains, producing the plan's share
- That share is capped by whatever is left of the annual maximum
- The plan pays the result; you pay the remainder of the allowed amount
- In network, any charge above the allowance is written off; out of network, it is added to your bill
Network status
Why the same allowance means two different things
| Factor | Detail |
|---|---|
| In network | The allowed amount is a fee the practice contractually agreed to. It is also the maximum they may bill you for that service, so the write-off protects you automatically. |
| Out of network | There is no agreed fee. The plan sets an allowance from its own schedule, and the practice may bill the difference. This is balance billing, and it is where surprise costs come from. |
| How the allowance is set | Plans use contracted schedules, percentile-based usual-and-customary data, or a fixed table. The methodology is often not disclosed in a way you can verify. |
| Geography and code | Allowances vary by region and by the exact procedure code submitted. A small coding difference can change the basis of the whole calculation. |
| Non-covered services | Some contracts set a maximum a network dentist may charge even for services the plan does not cover at all. A genuine protection people rarely know they have. |
Reading the paperwork
Where to find it and what to check
On an explanation of benefits, the allowed amount usually appears in a column between the submitted charge and the plan payment, sometimes labelled allowable, contracted or negotiated. Checking it is worthwhile: confirm the procedure code matches what was performed, that the allowance corresponds to your network status, and that the deductible and coinsurance were applied in the correct order. Errors in this chain are not rare, and they are correctable when identified.
- Compare the submitted charge with the allowed amount to see the size of any write-off or gap
- Confirm the procedure code on the statement matches the treatment actually performed
- Check the deductible was applied to the allowance, not to the full fee
- Verify the network status recorded on the claim is correct, since a misapplied out-of-network allowance is a common and fixable error
- Where a balance appears for an in-network service, question it before paying
Questions people ask
Common questions
01Is the allowed amount what I pay?
+
No. The dental plan allowed amount is the basis for the calculation, not the outcome of it. The plan subtracts any deductible from the allowed amount, applies the coinsurance percentage, caps the result at the remaining annual maximum, and pays that. Your share is the rest of the allowed amount. Plus, if the dentist is out of network, anything charged above the allowance as well.
02Why is the allowed amount lower than what my dentist charged?
+
Because they are two different things. The charge is the practice's fee. The allowed amount is what the plan recognizes for that procedure, either through a contract with the practice or from its own schedule. In network, the practice has agreed to accept the lower figure and writes off the difference. Out of network, no such agreement exists and the difference may be billed to you.
03Can I find out the allowed amount before treatment?
+
Often, yes. A pretreatment estimate submitted with the proposed procedure codes will typically return the plan's allowance alongside its expected payment. The dental plan allowed amount is the single most useful thing to obtain before significant treatment, particularly out of network, because it converts the largest unknown in the calculation into a written figure before you commit.
04What is UCR and is it the same thing?
+
Usual, customary and reasonable is one method of setting an allowance, based on the plan's data about fees charged in a geographic area. It functions as the allowed amount for plans that use it. The important limitation is transparency: the underlying data and the percentile chosen are generally not disclosed. A UCR allowance is harder to anticipate or challenge than a contracted network fee.
05Does a higher allowed amount mean the plan pays more?
+
Usually yes, all else being equal. The coinsurance percentage applies to a larger base. But two limits can interrupt that: the annual maximum caps the payment regardless. The deductible comes off first. A higher allowance also does not help if the service is not covered. The allowance only matters once the plan has an obligation to pay something.
06Can the allowed amount differ between two in-network dentists for the exact same procedure code?
+
Yes: the contracted fee an insurer has negotiated can vary between individual practices even within the same network, depending on the specific contract each practice signed with that insurer, so assuming a single flat allowed amount applies network-wide for a given code is not always accurate; a pretreatment estimate for the specific practice is the reliable way to know.
07Why does my explanation of benefits sometimes show a different allowed amount for what looks like the same procedure on different visits?
+
Allowances can be updated periodically by the insurer, and a slightly different procedure code, a different tooth, or additional documentation submitted with one claim versus another can also produce a different figure even for superficially similar treatment, so a change between visits isn't necessarily an error: checking the specific codes on each claim clarifies whether it reflects a real difference.
08Is the allowed amount the same thing as what's sometimes called the 'negotiated rate'?
+
Generally yes for in-network care: the negotiated rate and the allowed amount refer to the same contracted fee the practice agreed to accept from that insurer, though terminology varies between plans and explanation-of-benefits formats, so if you see either term used, it is describing the same underlying figure that everything else in the calculation is based on.
09Can I ask my dentist's office what the allowed amount will be before I even contact my insurance company?
+
You can ask, and many practices with experience billing your specific insurer can give a reasonable estimate based on past claims with that plan, but the authoritative figure still comes from the insurer itself via a pretreatment estimate, since the practice's estimate is informed guesswork instead of a guarantee from the party actually setting the allowance.
10Does the allowed amount ever get disputed or corrected after a claim has already been processed?
+
Yes: if you identify that the wrong procedure code was used, that your network status was recorded incorrectly, or that the deductible and coinsurance were applied out of order against the allowance, these are correctable errors worth raising directly with the insurer, and catching them requires actually reading the explanation of benefits instead of assuming the calculation was done correctly.
11If a service isn't covered by my plan at all, is there still an allowed amount for it?
+
The dental plan allowed amount depends on the plan and on your network status, some in-network contracts still cap what a network dentist may charge even for a fully non-covered service, a genuine protection worth knowing about. Out-of-network care for a non-covered service typically has no such protection at all, leaving you exposed to whatever the practice charges.
12Does the allowed amount ever include the cost of materials or lab fees separately, or is it always one bundled figure per procedure code?
+
The dental plan allowed amount is generally one bundled figure tied to the specific procedure code submitted, so if lab fees or specific materials are billed under their own separate codes, each would have its own corresponding allowed amount, not being broken out from within a single code's allowance.
Related glossary terms
Sources
- Medicare Dental CoverageCenters for Medicare & Medicaid ServicesAccessed 2026-08-17